Reading Force summer reading top picks!

/, News, Recommendations/Reading Force summer reading top picks!

Whether you’re on the beach or at home, you can travel everywhere with a good book!

Here are some of our favourite new releases….

Babies and toddlers

           

Swarm Of Bees by Lemony Snicket and Rilla Alexander
It can feel good to be angry. It can feel better to stop. Swarm of Bees! Swarm of Bees! You are SO angry! What will you do? Watch out! A mischievous boy has unleashed an angry swarm of bees! The result is a zany gallop through a charming town where readers will encounter evidence of some bad behaviour, some frenzied anger and thankfully, a hug and some spaghetti.

Dalmation In A Digger by Rebecca Elliott
Dugger! Dugger! Dugger! What’s that noise? Little Dalmatian is about to find out as he follows the booming noises of big construction vehicles in this energetic picture book. Favourite pre-school themes of construction, animals and funny rhymes are brilliantly brought together by award-winning author and illustrator Rebecca Elliott, to create an accessible first picture book to be enjoyed by the whole family.

Age 3+

What The Ladybird Heard 10th Anniversary Edition by Julia Donaldson and Lydia Monks
The ladybird said never a word. But the ladybird saw, And the ladybird heard… When the ladybird overhears Hefty Hugh and Lanky Len planning to steal the farmer’s fine prize cow, it’s up to her – the smallest, quietest creature on the farm – to stop the thieves… This rhyming farmyard adventure features two bungling robbers, one clever little ladybird – and lots of animal noises! Join in the fun with the What the Ladybird Heard 10th Anniversary Edition. With bright, distinctive artwork and glitter on every page, this special edition of the family-favourite story also features bonus material, including a letter from author Julia Donaldson and never-before-seen pictures from the illustrator Lydia Monks’ sketchbook.

Age 5+

                     

The Curse Of The School Rabbit by Judith Kerr
Snowflake is the school rabbit, and Snowflake is TROUBLE. At least that’s what Tommy thinks, and when Snowflake is unexpectedly left for him to look after and EVERYTHING starts to go wrong, it looks like Tommy might be right. Even if he is getting more pocket money for feeding it and might be able to afford a new bike after all… A fantastically funny and beautifully illustrated new young fiction title from Judith Kerr (The Tiger Who Came To Tea), this is the perfect story children aged six plus to read alone or with their family.

Hello, Horse by Vivian French and illustrated by Catherine Rayner
From much-loved author Vivian French and award-winning illustrator Catherine Rayner comes a charming new Nature Storybook about horses. Hello, Horse! gently introduces young children to Shannon, a friendly chestnut mare, and offers encouragement to children unfamiliar with or a little nervous of these large, beautiful creatures.

Age 7+

                                  

My Parents Cancelled My Birthday by Jo Simmons and illustrated by Nathan Reed
Tom can’t wait for his LUCKY BIRTHDAY. It’s an EPIC family tradition and he’s dreamed up an UNFORGETTABLE party! Only, after several disasters involving a flattened chihuahua and a curse from the tooth fairy, it’s been CANCELLED. But Tom won’t give up. With the help of his friends (and a pig painted like a zebra), Tom decides to throw himself the party he deserves. What could possibly go wrong? This hilarious book is perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart.

The Dragon In The Library by Louie Stowell and Davide Ortu
Kit can’t STAND reading, She’d MUCH rather be outside, playing games and getting muddy, than stuck inside with a book. But when she’s dragged along to the library one day by her two best friends, she makes an incredible discovery – and soon it’s up to Kit and her friends to save the library … and the world.

Age 9+

                        

My Cousin Is A Time Traveller by David Solomons
Luke’s dad has bought a lot of gadgets recently and not one of them works as it’s supposed to. Maybe it’s because a machine-from-the-future is playing havoc with all the tech and trying to stop Star Lad going on a date. Could this be the Rise of the Machines? Luke knows what he must do – he just needs his fellow SCARF members to help, or it will be the end of everything… Another comic story from the brilliant author of My Brother Is A Superhero and My Gym Teacher Is An Alien Overlord.

Eagle Warrior by Gill Lewis
This is a thrilling and topical adventure surrounding endangered wildlife and nature. This thought-provoking story will encourage discussion around pollution and endangered species. Bobbie is thrilled that a golden eagle has settled in the forest near her family’s farm. She loves to walk the hills with her granny and watch the bird soar through the sky. But not everyone shares Bobbie’s awe for the spectacular bird. When her granny’s beloved dog is killed by poisoned bait, it soon becomes clear that someone is out to get the eagle – and they’re ready to take down anything, and anyone, that gets in their way. Bobbie is determined to save the eagle but is it worth the risk?
This is particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant, or dyslexic readers. 

Fire Girl, Forest Boy by Chloe Daykin
Maya has to escape. She’s on the run in a country she doesn’t know and has no idea who to trust. Raul is escaping too – travelling back to his home where a terrible tragedy happened, ready to stir up trouble. When their paths collide in the middle of the jungle, the sparks begin to fly. As modern world corruption meets the magic and legends of ancient times, can Maya draw on her hidden light to find the way through to the truth? A book about light, about magic and belief, and about unlocking your own potential, from the critically acclaimed author of Fish Boy and The Boy Who Hit Play.

Age 11+

                         

Rose Rivers by Jacqueline Wilson and Nick Sharratt
A wonderful story starring old friends and new from the much-beloved Victorian world of Hetty Feather. Rose Rivers lives in a beautiful house with her artist father, her difficult, fragile mother and her many siblings. She has everything money can buy – but she feels as though life isn’t fair for girls and poor people. Why can’t she be educated at school like her brother? Why can’t she learn to become a famous artist like her father? Why is life so unfair for people who were not born rich? When a young girl, Clover Moon, joins the household as a nursemaid to Rose’s troubled sister Beth, and she meets her father’s bohemian protege Paris Walker, she starts to learn more about the wider world. Will Paris help Rose finally achieve her dreams? And will she be able to help Clover find her own dream?

Where The River Runs Gold by Sita Brahmachari
Two children must risk everything to escape their fate and find the impossible… Shifa and her brother, Themba, live in Kairos City with their father, Nabil. Few live in luxury, whilst millions like them crowd together in compounds, surviving on meagre rations and governed by Freedom Fields – the organisation that looks after you, as long as you opt in. The bees have long disappeared; instead children must labour on farms, pollinating crops so that the nation can eat. The farm Shifa and Themba are sent to is hard and cruel. Themba won’t survive there and Shifa comes up with a plan to break them out. The journey ahead is fraught with danger, but Shifa is strong and knows to listen to her instincts – to let hope guide them home. The freedom of a nation depends on it . . .

Age 14+

                            

The Lost Tide Warriors by Catherine Doyle
Fionn Boyle has been Storm Keeper of Arranmore for less than six months when thousands of terrifying Soulstalkers arrive on the island. The empty-eyed followers of the dreaded sorceress Morrigan have come to raise their leader and Fionn is powerless to stop them. The Storm Keeper’s magic has deserted him and with his grandfather’s memory waning, Fionn must rely on his friends Shelby and Sam to help him summon Dagda’s army of merrows. But nobody else believes the ferocious sea creatures even exist. And how can he prove he’s right without any magic? As Fionn begins his search for the lost army, the other islanders prepare for invasion. The battle to save Arranmore has begun.

Tulip Taylor by Anna Mainwaring
Challenged to go on a survival reality TV show, fifteen-year-old make-up vlogger Tulip only accepts to escape her mother’s money-making schemes and protect her younger brother and sister. Set up to fail, can she prove to the TV show, to Harvey – the cute but annoying boy who got her on there – and most importantly to herself, that she’s more than just a pretty face? As Tulip puts down her phone and heads for the hills, she finds she has both the courage and insight to take on each new challenge. But as ‘reality’ gets ever more crazy, will either teen escape their families and their time in the spotlight unscathed?

Young Adults

                            

The Harm Tree by Rose Edwards
Nine years ago two princes waged a bloody civil war for the right to rule Arngard. The younger prince took the throne and outlawed the ancient beliefs, but some wounds don’t heal. New religion replaced the barbaric traditions and finally, there’s peace. Torny and Ebba are friends. Sent away by their families, they work together and watch out for each other. Too young to remember the war that tore apart the kingdom, Torny dreams of the glorious warriors of old, while Ebba misses her family, despite the darkness she left behind. But when a man is murdered on the street and Torny finds herself in possession of a dangerous message, the two friends must tread separate paths. These will lead them through fear, through grief, to the source of their own power and to the gates of death itself. As Torny and Ebba are used as tools for the opposing factions of the war, a deep power is ignited in them both. Can they uncover their own strength to finally heal the wounds of a nation?

Everything All At Once by Steven Camden AKA Polarbear
An achingly beautiful collection of poems about teen experience and one week in a secondary school where everything happens all at once. Zooming in across the cast of characters, we share moments that span everything from hoping to make it to the end of the week, facing it, fitting in, finding friends and falling out, to loving lessons, losing it, and worrying, wearing it well and worshipping from afar.

We’d love to hear about your favourite summer reads
– why not send us a review (hattie@readingforce.org.uk) and we’ll post it on our website

Happy summer holidays!

2019-08-13T17:29:58+00:00
Reading Force
MENU